newsinfomain meddinner 190708
Minister for Education Ong Ye Kung speaking at the Medical Dinner 2019 which took place at the Fairmont Hotel on 3 July 2019.

On 3 July 2019, the NUS Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine celebrated its 114th anniversary at the annual Medical Dinner. Themed Celebrating our Heritage, over 900 graduands, staff and alumni dressed in formal wear, batik and peranakan attire gathered and paid tribute to the pioneering, philanthropic spirit of Mr Tan Jiak Kim, the founding donor of the School.

Minister for Education, Mr Ong Ye Kung, who was the Guest-of-Honour at the dinner, unveiled the School's official flower, the Vanda NUS Medicine, together with the Dean, Professor Chong Yap Seng. During his address, Minister Ong highlighted the weakening of public trust and advised ways to preserve it as public officers, healthcare professionals and educators. 

The School also honoured and recognised the works of notable alumni through the Alumni Awards, which were presented by Minister Ong. The recipients are:

  • Young Alumnus of the Year for Medicine - Dr Dinesh Visva Gunasekeran, Class of 2015
  • Young Alumnus of the Year for Nursing - Ms Kuah Ling Ling, Class of 2010
  • Alumni Ambassador of the Year - Professor Low Cheng Hock, Class of 1968
  • Alumnus of the Year - Dr Oon Chiew Seng, Class of 1948

newsinfomain2 meddinner 190708 unedited
Professor Chong Yap Seng (left), Dean of NUS Medicine, and Minister Ong (right) unveiling the School's first official flower, the Vanda NUS Medicine.

newsinfomain3 meddinner 190708
Minister Ong presenting the Alumnus of the Year award to Dr Oon Chiew Seng (left) from Class of 1948. At 103 years old, Dr Oon is a pioneer in Obstetrics and Gynaecology who demonstrates an unrelenting spirit of giving through her philanthropic efforts.

Click here to view Minister's full speech.

News Coverage