Celebrating Our People 2018 - NUS Medical Sciences Cluster

Associate Professor Lim Kah Leong receives the distinguished 2018 President's Science Award for ground breaking work in Parkinson's Disease

We would like to extend our heartiest congratulations to Associate Professor Lim Kah Leong for receiving the 2018 President’s Science Award! This is the highest accolade for top research scientists and engineers for their outstanding contributions to the scientific community in Singapore. Associate Prof Lim is part of a quartet studying Parkinson’s Disease, where they had successfully created the world’s first live human midbrain in a laboratory. The award winning team consists of Professor Tan Eng King and Associate Professor Louis Tan Chew Seng from the National Neuroscience Institute (NNI) and Professor Ng Huck Hui from the Genome Institute of Singapore (GIS).

Read More

Celebrating Mrs Phoon Meng Chee

In 1972, Mrs Phoon Meng Chee joined NUS as a laboratory technologist with the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, then known as Department of Bacteriology. She was under the tutelage of the late Associate Professor Lee Liang Hin who instilled in her 2 lifelong traits: discipline and meticulousness. After 45 years of service with NUS, Meng Chee is an esteemed colleague in the community. We met and listened to her inspiring journey with NUS Medicine.

Read More

Celebrating Mrs Tan Boon Kheng

At the 2018 NUS Medicine Awards Ceremony, Mrs Tan Boon Kheng (Dept of Biochemistry) received the 45 years long service award. Recently, we interviewed her as she reminisced about her 4½ decades of service with NUS.

Read More

NUS Medicine Awards Ceremony 2018

People are and will always be our greatest asset. At this year’s NUS Medicine Awards, we celebrated our colleagues from the Medical Sciences Cluster who received recognition for their long service and outstanding contributions towards education and research.

This year, Professor Rajendran and Associate Professor Francis Voon (both from Dept of Anatomy) received the Special Recognition Award. This Award recognises teachers who our students identified as role models and left a lasting influence and impact throughout their course of study. In addition, Dept of Anatomy was bestowed the Teaching Excellence (Department) Award. This was made possible as their teachers collectively received consistently strong and positive feedback from the students.

The Graduate Mentor of the Year Award was established to honour and celebrate excellence in mentorship and professional development of graduate students. This year, the Medical Sciences Cluster has 3 recipients: Associate Professor Sylvie Alonso (Dept of Microbiology and Immunology), Associate Professor Gautam Sethi (Dept of Pharmacology) and Dr Thai Tran (Dept of Physiology).

It was a momentous occasion for 3 of our colleagues who received the prodigious Long Service Award. Both Mrs Phoon Meng Chee (Dept of Microbiology & Immunology) and Mrs Tan Boon Kheng nee Gui (Dept of Biochemistry) had served 45 illustrious years with the School. As an Operations Associate, Mr Balakrishnan s/o Arasan (Dept of Microbiology & Immunology) had spent 40 years of his life with NUS Medicine. Without the loyalty and hard work of dedicated experts like them who helped built the School in its early years, we could never had achieved our present stature. Thank you for being with us through the years!