Teaching elective - NUS Medical Sciences Cluster

Research Fellows who are looking to develop their teaching portfolio can choose from the following list of modules offered by NUS Medicine.

NoDepartmentModule Coordinator(s)Contact DetailsModule CodeModule titlePractical / Tutorial
1BiochemistryMatthew Changbchcmw@nus.edu.sgLSM3246Synthetic BiologyTutorial
2BiochemistryMatthew Changbchcmw@nus.edu.sgLSM3247Practical Synthetic BiologyPractical
3BiochemistryThilo Hagenbchth@nus.edu.sgLSM2233Cell BiologyTutorial
4Microbiology & ImmunologySylvie Alonso / Veronique Angelimicas@nus.edu.sg / micva@nus.edu.sgLSM4226Infection & ImmunityPlease contact module coordinator for more information.
5Microbiology & ImmunologyKevin Tan/ Pablo Bifanimictank@nus.edu.sg / micpb@nus.edu.sgLSM4223Advances in Antimicrobial StrategiesPracticals and Tutorials
6Microbiology & ImmunologyKevin Tan/ John Chenmictank@nus.edu.sg / miccjy@nus.edu.sgLSM2291Fundamental Techniques in MicrobiologyPracticals
7PharmacologyFred Wong Wai Shiuphcwongf@nus.edu.sgLSM3211Fundamental PharmacologyTutorials
8PharmacologyJudy Sngphcsngj@nus.edu.sgLSM 3219NeuropharmacologyPracticals and Tutorials
9PhysiologyTsai Shih Yinphsts@nus.edu.sgLSM4232Advanced Cell BiologyPlease contact module coordinator for more information.
10PhysiologyTan Yong-Yi, Andrewphstya@nus.edu.sgLSM4213Systems NeurobiologyPractical
11PhysiologyCelestial Yap / Chen Zhixiongphstya@nus.edu.sg /  zhixiong_chen@nus.edu.sgMD1140 - Phase 1Normal Structure and FunctionPracticals
12PhysiologyZakaria Almsherqiphszama@nus.edu.sgLSM3212 (Sem 1)Human Physiology: Cardiopulmonary SystemPracticals
13PhysiologyLim Hsiu Kim, Linaphslhkl@nus.edu.sgLSM3212 (Sem 2)Human Physiology: Cardiopulmonary SystemPracticals

Application

Interested RFs, kindly email the module coordinators at the email provided in the table above and cc us at medbx116@nus.edu.sg; (Attention: REINVENT_Teaching).

Contact time is limited to a maximum of 5 hours/semester unless there is mutual agreement between the RFs and his/her PI for the additional hours.

Applicants should check with the respective module coordinators about the content, class size, teaching material needed or to be provided, teaching hours, and mode of delivery before taking on a class so that you can prepare better. Also talk to your coordinators if you would like to receive student feedback.

Faculty

Other faculty members who would like to make their module available for our RFs to teach tutorials or practical, kindly contact us with your module details at medbx116@nus.edu.sg

Teaching resources

Interested postdocs can also sign up for a variety of teaching related workshops by Centre for Development of Teaching and Learning, NUS. These workshops provide excellent opportunities to learn evidence-informed strategies, to develop pedagogy and curricula and also introduce the educators to different educational technologies. These workshops are free so do register early if you are interested. Please refer to the link below for CDTL’S workshop/course schedule.

http://www.cdtl.nus.edu.sg/whats-on.htm