The School has established a Medical Sciences Cluster comprising the Departments of Anatomy, Biochemistry, Microbiology & Immunology, Pharmacology and Physiology, effective June 1, 2017. The aim is to build a stronger basic sciences identity and improve strategic coordination and synergies for research and education.


The Medical Sciences Cluster joins the family of clusters within the school and under NUH and NUS Medicine, namely the University Medicine Cluster, University Surgical Cluster, University Children’s Medical Institute and the University Orthopaedics, Hand and Reconstructive Microsurgery Cluster. It is led by Professor Hooi Shing Chuan, Cluster Chair, Associate Professor Maxey Chung Ching Ming, Deputy Cluster Chair, and the respective Heads of the five Basic Science Departments of NUS Medicine.


Prof Hooi is well known in the community as having been the Vice-Dean for Education from 2010 till recently.He joined NUS in 1985 and has held appointments including the Head, Department of Physiology from 2000 to 2008 and Assistant Dean (Pre-clinical Education) from 2009 to 2010. Since June 1, Associate Professor Lau Tang Ching has assumed the portfolio of the Vice-Dean for Education at NUS Medicine.


Assoc Prof Chung is the Deputy Head of Biochemistry Department at NUS Medicine. He has been with the Department of Biochemistry for more than 30 years and was the Acting Head, Department of Biochemistry from July 1, 2015 to March 31, 2016.

Left: Prof Hooi Shing Chuan; Right: Assoc Prof Maxey Chung